Milan Christopher & Miles Brock: Love & Hip Hop Review

By Ockydub | Posted Oct 29 2015 | 24 Comments  

Banner

I don’t think I’m your typical reality television fan. The reality tv I watch are shows like the award winning No Reservations with Anthony Bourdain, Bizarre Foods with Andrew Zimmern, Paranormal Witness or River Monsters. I know some may have never heard of these shows nor would consider them reality tv in the popular context but to me they fall in that category. On the other hand, I feel like I’m allergic to the more popular, ratings grabbing, gossip blog, manufactured drama, messy, world-star-hip-hop-esque reality television shows. I avoid them like the plague. I have seen maybe 2 episodes of the first season of Real House Wives Of Atlanta. A show where many of the women aren’t wives; others like Basketball Wives, Love and Hip Hop Atlanta or Hollywood, Bad Girls Club, etc. are all cut from the same cloth…scripted drama with a dash of reality.

Even though I didn’t watch the full episodes, I have viewed clips of RHOA where there were gay characters being featured. Seeing the characters, I felt deflated. More of the same; which were effeminate men shown as being accessories to the female leads on the show. This wasn’t surprising in that historically, masculinity is something that is often excluded on television shows where same gender loving black men are featured.

As co-founder of this site (which is more focused on the masculine leaning homosexual men of color) the founders have to keep our “ears to the street” sort of speak to the current happenings within the culture and community. Our reviews, discussions and commentary on LGBT films, short stories, web series, music and television characters of color, have garnered both positive and negative reactions.

There are times (like now) when black gay internet will cause me to check out a show, just to see what the hype is; in addition to, readers wanting the “Cypher Avenue” opinion. Previously this lead me to do a review of the much talked about Prancing Elites reality show from earlier this year. Even though I didn’t complete the season (you know, the whole aversion to reality tv thing), I viewed enough to give an honest review. Now I’ve done the same for the story arc on Love and Hip Hop Hollywood featuring Milan Christopher and Miles Brock.

I would like to point out my viewing came after hearing about the “positivity” concerning the gay/staight love triangle on Love and Hip Hop Hollywood that proceeded the Out In Hip Hop VH1 special and the overall message of “living in your truth” (thanks Iyanla). What I always find interesting is that there is (and I assume will always be) a large portion of the reality tv viewing public that will believe these shows are just as real as the found footage films The Blair Witch Project or the first Paranormal Activity.

After 30 minutes of viewing the first episode of LHHH which had an over abundance of bad attitudes, over acting, hyper sassiness, goose necking, stereotypes and enough weave to make Rapunzel give a side eye; I decided just to fast forward to the gay story-line within each available episode and save myself some headaches.


Milan and Miles are in a relationship and are both aspiring rappers/musicians. Brock’s is best friends with his high school sweetheart and ex, Amber. Even though Amber and Miles haven’t been together in years, she is holding on to the idea that she and Miles will be together.

The Negatives

Back in August, I (like with most on social media ) had no idea who gay rappers Milan Christopher or Siir Brock was. These were not the gay rappers I’m familiar with like Last’O, Bryant, Earth Tone, Siya, Fly Young Red or Kaos. After doing a quick internet search, I saw Milan’s music video and recalled receiving a message/press release requesting Cypher Avenue to do a review. In addition, I came across a voyeuristic recording featuring Milan and a male companion having sex. Well, we all got a past and no judgments here. Nonetheless, I must say this all came off as if someone who will stop at nothing to become “famous”, attempting to follow a Kim Kardashian model of celebrity stardom. I then seen that Milan is the nephew of legendary music producer Berry Gordy…interesting.

It seems like Down Low-ism as it relates to the African American community in media just isn’t going to ever go away. This trope appears to be as fascinating to black women and some fem leaning black gay men as UFOs are to UFO researchers. In this context, it looks as if or is implied that Miles may still be sexually involved with Amber. Think about it, what woman would be waiting years for a man to make up his mind if sex wasn’t involved. Women have needs too right? Even if sex wasn’t involved (reflecting about it, I don’t recall an on screen kiss shared between the two), it still plays into what I feel is a sexist stereotype of a man stringing a woman along emotionally. All the while we have the proud, out and open Milan who pushes Miles Brock to be the same.

As an almost 40 year old man, I have literally seen and read this exact same story line as it pertains to black gay story lines in media for almost 20 years. In the aspect of “reality”, yes it exists but how is this progression if these images and stories are recycled over and over again?

Side note* Word to the wise gentlemen, if you meet a closeted man and decide to date him, please don’t pressure him to come out. This is not your decision and everyone’s reality and circumstances are different. If you don’t want the hassle and frustration of not being able to be open or seen within the relationship…then save yourself some time and only date an open and out gay man.

These next few “negatives” could potentially be viewed as positives. For example the producers of the show really used social media to its advantage by creating controversy before the show even aired. Supposedly some of the show’s “straight” male stars didn’t want to be seen on camera with nor have their story lines commingled with the GAYS. This was somewhat verified by the show’s “hasn’t had a hit in years” star Omarion who stated “keep that shit out of my muthafuckin story line.” All the social media trending hype was gold for the show.

Something else that I observed; if you need to learn how to properly throw or dispose of a drink, these shows are a great resource tool. As I fast forwarded through the episodes, there were so many “drink throwing” incidences that is was unbelievable. Like check out this scene between two random male and female light skin divas.

The random drink toss-age was almost non-stop, like when Brock storms out of Milan’s apartment free of the belongings and car keys he came in with (yeah this is “reality” my ass).

11 1213

Basically the producers said “We need more fabulous sassy drama. Please make sure we get a random drank being tossed in this scene. Thanks everyone…and ACTION.” Look, me and my dude been together going on 7 years and when we were dating and had an argument, I could not conceive of doing something this disrespectful. Who the fuck does this bullshit in real life?

Shows like RHOA and LHHH are great informational programs on how NOT TO begin, be in, conduct yourself while in and or how to get out of a relationship. If you see something done within the confines of a relationship on a reality tv program, there is a 97% chance you should do the complete opposite in your real life. For instance, Milan putting his personal relationship business on social media after getting matching tattoos with Miles.

Milan-Christopher-Breakup-Instagram


The Positives

In all fairness (trendy fashion fads and chance tattoos aside) Milan and Siir Brock are a bit of a break from the norm. Here we have two masculine leaning African American men in a relationship starring on a television program in the main cast. The last time this happened to my knowledge, scripted or otherwise (please correct me if I’m wrong) was with Tariq and Kaldrick on the LA Complex. Regardless of the strides with same gender loving men of color who are featured on television, they’re usually created and placed within an interracial relationship.

Before you read too deep into this statement, I fall into the “love is love” crowd but one can’t ignore the interracial dominance on television when LGBT coupled characters of color are featured.

I think it goes without saying, Brock coming out to his ex and friend Amber in addition to coming out to his family in the episode titled Truth, is the biggest positive in this story. In many of life’s circumstances… honesty (not only to you but to your love ones) is always the best policy. LHHH and VH1 turned this whole event into a media publicity blitz with Milan and Brock as the spokesmen leading up to VH1’s Out In Hip Hop special. They even had Brock do a PSA (Public Service Announcement) for LGBT individuals who may need help navigating their personal process. I think one would be hard pressed to find aversion with the mantra of “Living In Your Truth” (thanks again Iyanla).


Now that the cat is out of the bag and all the closeted homosexual skeletons are free, I can only imagine the scenarios the producers will have to create for season 3 concerning Milan and Miles. Something tells me this duo may be headed for some cheating, threesomes, open relationship or homophobia type drama…because you know…a homosexual relationship featuring men of color on a reality cable television program will still need to tow the stereotypical line.

Oh damn…they beat me to it. I guess they’re not waiting until next season.

msg3 msg1 msg 2

 

Oh Well…Happy Drink Tossing.

Cypher Avenue Rating: 1.5 of 5      
About the Author
Ockydub

Octavius is a founder and editor of Cypher Avenue. He's here to help speak for us and show the world that masculine gay / bisexual men of color are not a part of the stereotypical gay normal that is seen and fed to the masses. No...we are a distinct breed, filled with character and pride. Cypher Avenue is here to show the world how we are different.

   
Categorized as :
EntertainmentReviewsSliderTelevision

24 Comments Feel Free To Join The Cypher.

  1. Mati Cool Cool
    Mati Cool Cool | October 30th, 2015
    0

    Lovely

  2. Kray Kray Twin | October 30th, 2015
    +1

    Meh. Imma wait for the Yusaf Mack & All My Children reality show — that family drama be really real!

  3. Kray Kray Twin | October 30th, 2015
    0

    “two masculine leaning African American men in a relationship” Po-tay-to… po-tah-to I say…pseudo-masc, or butch fem with intermediate-level code switching ability

    • Ockydub
      ockydub | October 30th, 2015
      0

      Point taken LOL

  4. African King
    African King | October 30th, 2015
    0

    Milan Christopher is nephew to Barry Gordy through marriage. An uncle got married to someone in the family or whatever so it is more like a "stepnephew" or "nephew-in-law" (if that makes sense lol… the interview providing that explanation is on G-List Society's YouTube page).

    You actually broke a story @ockydub! I had no clue that Miles was cheating. My bro told me this morning while I was in the hospital for school work. Now I see the posts and I guess it is true. This all could possibly be reality TV show stunts to pull in viewers for the LHHH reunion coming up next month or in December. Mona Scott-Young and the producing team know what they are doing.

    I enjoy the storyline and the whole show because I am entertained by it. Helps me step out of my boring life every Monday night LOL. But the main thing I love is how Miles came out. Truth be told, his revelation helped a friend of mine (a Jamaican/Costa Rican dude born as a Jehovah's Witness…. LAWD HA MERCY!) come out to a family relative that is pretty much like a rock for him. She accepted him coming out as bisexual so there are definitely some positives to this portrayal of Miles and Milan on LHHH.

    Thanks for posting this.

  5. hannibal
    hannibal | October 30th, 2015
    0

    I tried watching but it just wasn't interesting. It felt like they were there literally for the ratings.

  6. ControlledXaos | October 30th, 2015
    0

    Can somebody just extract their story line and post it up online? I really would be interested in only them and not the other weave wearing people and the people who like them on this show if I were to watch it.

  7. Nick Delmacy
    Nick Delmacy | October 30th, 2015
    0

    And nikkas be rushing to get into "cute" relationships just like these two…

  8. African King
    African King | October 30th, 2015
    0
    ControlledXaos

    Can somebody just extract their story line and post it up online? I really would be interested in only them and not the other weave wearing people and the people who like them on this show if I were to watch it.

    Just like they did with LA Complex, the same thing will happen with LHHH in due time. lol.

  9. African King
    African King | October 30th, 2015
    0

    Nick DelmacyAnd nikkas be rushing to get into "cute" relationships just like these two…

    lol yeah big bro. there is no hope left hahaha

  10. African King
    African King | October 30th, 2015
    0
    hannibal

    I tried watching but it just wasn't interesting. It felt like they were there literally for the ratings.

    Ratings play a big part but the discussion sparked on Black Twitter and just overall about homophobia in hip-hop is necessary.

    If you notice, they always but a piece of the gay storyline at the start then they keep the rest of it until the very end of the episode! I hate them for that but they know how to keep us watching resulting in higher ratings!

  11. Jaa
    Jaa | October 30th, 2015
    0

    African KingIf you notice, they always but a piece of the gay storyline at the start then they keep the rest of it until the very end of the episode! I hate them for that but they know how to keep us watching resulting in higher ratings!

    Another trick is that the next episode previews sometimes show events that aren't really covered in full until the following episode. The episode following the initial coming out preview ended right before the actual coming out happened so you really had to wait for a second episode. They did the same thing with the last episode, showing the girl confronting Milan, but that actual scene was only shown in the last 60 seconds and won't really be covered until next week. They set up cliffhangers like a soap opera.

  12. Dante
    Dante | October 30th, 2015
    0

    ControlledXaosCan somebody just extract their story line and post it up online? I really would be interested in only them and not the other weave wearing people and the people who like them on this show if I were to watch it.

    LOL! The Out in Hip Hop thing was cute for the sake of the narrative and the overall agenda being that there is an issue with homophobia in Hip Hop. However, you would be bored. They are soooo not needed on the show, in addition to the show being a drapera with some scripted, forced acting. Mona is only using them for the show and they are only getting shine because of the "celebrity" of it. ***YAMN***

  13. bpaisle
    bpaisle | October 30th, 2015
    0

    I watch shows like this purely for the entertainment factor. Like @African King said, its cool to step out of your own life sometimes and watch someone else's shyt. I do not take any of it seriously. The part about this particular storyline though was that they were playing it as if they didn't know that they were filming a reality show. Miles kept saying that he wasn't ready to come out but dude its going to come out eventually. YOUR ON A TV SHOW. I couldn't buy any of it. You knew when you signed up for it that you were going to be on there with your secret boyfriend so even if you didn't decide to come out to your family on your own, they were going to see it anyway.

    View attachment 678

    View attachment 679

  14. OhSheit
    OhSheit | October 30th, 2015
    +1
    Nick Delmacy

    And nikkas be rushing to get into "cute" relationships just like these two…

    :whoa:

  15. DiamondKesawn
    DiamondKesawn | October 30th, 2015
    0

    Aggy and Maggy both annoy the shytt out of me… I hat the fact that THEY get to represent ALL GAY PEOPLE in the eyes of those who act like they are the only 2 young black gay males in the WORLD……………. Ughhhhhhhhhhhhhh…. Okay, so, it's going to come out soon enough. I did the "Holler If You Hear Me: Black and Gay in the Church" for BET which drops on 11/07/15 and I never for the life of me thought the clip would end up on "Out In Hip Hop." With all me friends calling saying they seen my 2 second clip I finally broke down and watched it On Demand 2 weeks later…. #AllShade, they annoyed me, Ray J needs to give it up. I lived in Baltimore for 5 years, I just wanted Pastor Bryant to hang up on Skype because Babeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee…. I digress…. Anyways, back to this posting… Sir Co-Founder, I absolutely agree with you. I think it's time we give the world the truth that Gay is just a Sexual Preference and doesn't need to DEFINE your entire being…. In any case, ill choose watching "Industry Guys" over these two aggs.

  16. SB3
    SB3 | October 31st, 2015
    0

    But wait, wasnt it literally like last week that the special came on?

    On one hand, I say, if all of these other basic broads can keep getting a check for cuttin the fool every week then, hell, why can't they?

    But then, seeing as how they'd inadvertently (unfortunately) represent 'me' (blk, masc, and 'lost' to the gays) to the 'masses', I wish that they'd just get canned.

    Is it rly a 'thing' to discuss ur relationship on IG?

  17. African King
    African King | October 31st, 2015
    0

    SB3But wait, wasnt it literally like last week that the special came on?

    On one hand, I say, if all of these other basic broads can keep getting a check for cuttin the fool every week then, hell, why can't they?

    But then, seeing as how they'd inadvertently (unfortunately) represent 'me' (blk, masc, and 'lost' to the gays) to the 'masses', I wish that they'd just get canned.

    Is it rly a 'thing' to discuss ur relationship on IG?

    These days it is. I was talking with a doctor and a nurse while at some rotations this week and why we just don't agree with putting our lives all over social media. We all consider ourselves to be private people so while we may or may not have Facebook, we don't broadcast each and every detail of our lives on there. While I do confess some things on here, I see this as an outlet but I still feel like it is different in a way. Does that make sense?

  18. SB3
    SB3 | October 31st, 2015
    0

    African KingThese days it is. I was talking with a doctor and a nurse while at some rotations this week and why we just don't agree with putting our lives all over social media. We all consider ourselves to be private people so while we may or may not have Facebook, we don't broadcast each and every detail of our lives on there. While I do confess some things on here, I see this as an outlet but I still feel like it is different in a way. Does that make sense?

    Yes it does. Two completely diff social media scenes.

  19. Naturally10Me
    Naturally10Me | November 1st, 2015
    0

    First off @African King you are a media whore…lol Secondly they were so cute on Wendy Williams trying to save their public marriage. The reality being that I have been REALLY married before is that people in the community play high school games. They don't under how to come above the bullshyt and maximize in the real world of mental stability and longevity. Boyfriend is not equal to partnership. Plus you don't put your business all over social media. #WeFuckedLastNight #HeCheated #IGaveHead #OpenCouple GTFOH

  20. Cyrus-Brooks
    Cyrus-Brooks | February 3rd, 2016
    0

    I'm not a fan of reality shows especially the black oriented stuff like "Basketball Wives" or "Love and Hip Hop" for the reasons that have already been discussed. However my observation of the Christopher Milan and Sir Brock saga is messy, messy, messy. Especially the ending. Why is it necessary to put your business out there on social media when you break up. Why not just break up quietly and say it didn't work out. Yes I know it that doesn't generate ratings but it just seems silly and bitchy to me to be going back and forth on Twitter it makes both parties look bad.

  21. SB3
    SB3 | February 3rd, 2016
    0

    Cyrus-BrooksI'm not a fan of reality shows especially the black oriented stuff like "Basketball Wives" or "Love and Hip Hop" for the reasons that have already been discussed. However my observation of the Christopher Milan and Sir Brock saga is messy, messy, messy. Especially the ending. Why is it necessary to put your business out there on social media when you break up. Why not just break up quietly and say it didn't work out. Yes I know it that doesn't generate ratings but it just seems silly and bitchy to me to be going back and forth on Twitter it makes both parties look bad.

    A check is a check for some ppl, so manufacturing drama for the sake of said check, is no problem. Smh

    Now I just read that Milan is dating that gal Moniece. He aint never seen no paaaaarts of the pvssy, and aint never wanted to. See. Epitome of saying anything for a check.

  22. bisonboy
    bisonboy | February 7th, 2016
    0

    I have been watching LHHH on Hulu and I fully understand why I never wasted my time watching reality TV. It is an clear waste of my time. I am really only interested in Ray J's storyline.

  23. Reo Langster | March 3rd, 2016
    0

    I had the pleasure of watching The entire season and what was suppose to be a pivotal moment for reality television turn into a playground for Stunts & Shows. I personally don't believe That Miles cheated. He was going so much with amber,family,and Milan he is not going to add another man to the mix. Even if he did cheat Milan NEVER gave him the opportunity to explain his side of the story… Milan acted like a scorned women. Miles story was more realistic than Milan's. Period. Milan had a career before the show. He was a successful model and has partied like a rockstar since the day he was born. And now he wants to settle down. And now we are heading Into season 3 and the "Stunts" are coming out to keep Milan on the show. In the meantime Miles is SUCCESSFULLY selling his hat collection and putting himself out there. While MILAN IS BEING MILAN




You can add images to your comment by CLICKING HERE.


Want to add BOLD or Underlined Text? CLICK HERE    |    To See The Comments Section Rules, CLICK HERE