Movie Trailer Reviews & Commentary

By OckyDub | Posted Jan 29 2014 | 9 Comments  

Banner1

Movie Trailer Reviews & Commentary

Here at Cypher Avenue we continuously try to keep it innovative and entertaining. We’ve done plenty of movie trailer reviews in the past but none with actual verbal commentary. We know this is not exactly new or innovative; however it is for a gay leaning website for men of color. Tell us what you think not only of the movie trailers but also of this trailer review format.


First impression of the X-Men Days Of Future Past

Just had a thought about why the character Cable is missing in this film. Maybe it’s because Jean and Cyclops are dead (The Last Stand) and Cable is their son??


The Babadook says, “Bring Me The Boy”


Son Of Batman


Thick


12 O’clock Boys

About the Author
OckyDub

Octavius is a founder and editor of Cypher Avenue. He's here to help speak for us and show the world that masculine gay / bisexual men of color are not a part of the stereotypical gay normal that is seen and fed to the masses. No...we are a distinct breed, filled with character and pride. Cypher Avenue is here to show the world how we are different.

   
Categorized as :
EntertainmentFilmReviewsSlider
Tagged as:

9 Comments Feel Free To Join The Cypher.

  1. hannibal
    Hannibal | January 29th, 2014
    0

    I like the concept. I love watching trailer reviews on youtube. I would say let the trailer run all the way through and then critique and perhaps a synopsis of the film beforehand so we can decide if we are interested in looking at the trailer for a film we’re not familiar with. Just my two cents.

    • Ocky Williams | January 29th, 2014
      0

      Got it and agree. I think I tried to do that for most of them except Xmen. Thank you for the feedback.

  2. Dre G | January 29th, 2014
    0

    I was a bit let down to see this was going to be another Wolverine-centered movie,but whatever.With the ressurection of the Professor and all the time travel i was hoping they’d somehow bring back Jean, and Scott.It was kinda stupid to have the Phoenix die by getting stabbed. Halle berry has made repeated complaints about Storm being toned down in the films too .I need to see a little more to get excited though.

    Damien Wayne is barely entertaining in the comics,i dont need him in a movie.Give us more Ras maybe.

    This was a fun experiment dude.It added more entertainment to the footage.I look forward to more of these,maybe even commentaries over full length short films and such.

  3. RolandG
    rolandgarros28 | January 29th, 2014
    0

    Well, it’s important for me to say I’m not a fan of most of these movies or franchises so I might be biased in my reviews but I will say that this format does take away from the actual flow of the trailers. Particularly the X-Men review which was a bit confusing with the pauses, however, this is new to CA so I appreciate the effort you have put into trying to be innovative and keep us entertained.

    Now, 12 O’clock Boys seems like it could go either way. The flow of your review was great sense the review came, mainly, after the actual trailer. My take on the actual content of the trailer was very similar to yours. As I watched it, I wondered which patch these young men would take: the path to cycling glory or constant contact with law enforcement. I really don’t want this movie to be about glorifying criminal behavior by these young men because that ain’t cute at all. We shall see when it comes out but I eagerly await your review of the entire movie.

  4. Dreamwalker
    Equilibrium | January 29th, 2014
    0

    I agree with you about all the xmen films. I expected a lot more than what I got. Joss Whedon was originally selected to help write and direct the films but got replaced with Bryan Singer. I think wolverine is supposed to play the part of Cable (like in the Ultimate Xmen universe). I also heard a rumor that Magneto would somehow assume the role of Appocalypse in the next film. Had no idea that bishop was storm’s son.

  5. GeePee
    GeePee | January 29th, 2014
    0

    I did like the reviews I thought they were well done. As a huge horror fan I will definitely be checking out The Babadook even though it kind of gave me the same vibe as Insidious. I heard the Comment about Sinister, were you not a fan of that movie? Thick seems like it will be a good movie as long as the acting is decent. I have no high hopes for X-Men but will probably be in the theater opening weekend lol. 12 o clock boys hmmmm it does seem like a good movie but I am tired of seeing these same old documentaries showing black people as vigilante animals.

    • Ocky Williams | January 29th, 2014
      0

      I liked the movie Sinister but did not like “Mr. Boogie”…when I think about it, the movie really didn’t make much sense to me.

  6. Ocky Williams | January 29th, 2014
    0

    Interested in the “Days of Future Past” story? check this out.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yRjm4V1W8ck

  7. ControlledXaos
    Black Pegasus | January 30th, 2014
    +1

    I’ve seen most of the trailers before so I’ll just comment on the new format.

    I like it! Here’s my quick critique .

    1. If (and only IF) you decide to talk while the trailer is playing, I’d like to it be more like a football game. One of you do the serious narration while the other provide color commentary / jokes… And I mean funny jokes lol.

    2. If you go with allowing the trailer to play without voice over, I’d like to see a very brief synopsis at the beginning while allowing the trailer to play (no pausing). Give your brief thought as the trailer ends.




You can add images to your comment by CLICKING HERE.


Want to add BOLD or Underlined Text? CLICK HERE    |    To See The Comments Section Rules, CLICK HERE